The Marriage Pact – the new psychological thriller about a worldwide marriage cult

The Marriage Pact – the new psychological thriller about a worldwide marriage cult

With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware.” ~Melanie Kindrachuk, Library Journal, starred review:

In stores: July 25, 2017

Forthcoming in translation in 27 languages
Film rights optioned to Twentieth Century Fox

GET THE BOOK.   READ AN EXCERPT

“The Marriage Pact is a tense, twisting, quirky novel of growing dread…Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible.” ~Dean Koontz, #1 NewYork Times Bestselling author of The Silent Corner

“Riveting psychological suspense!… Beware. This book will keep you all night…” ~Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You

ABOUT THE BOOK

In this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense, New York Times bestselling author Michelle Richmond crafts an intense and shocking tale that asks: How far would you go to protect your marriage?

Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now a successful lawyer. Jake is a partner in an up-and-coming psychology practice. Their life together holds endless possibilities. After receiving an enticing wedding gift from one of Alice’s prominent clients, they decide to join an exclusive and mysterious group known only as The Pact.

The goal of The Pact seems simple: to keep marriages happy and intact. And most of its rules make sense. Always answer the phone when your spouse calls. Exchange thoughtful gifts monthly. Plan a trip together once per quarter. . . .

Never mention The Pact to anyone.

Alice and Jake are initially seduced by the glamorous parties, the sense of community, their widening social circle of like-minded couples. And then one of them breaks the rules.

The young lovers are about to discover that for adherents to The Pact, membership, like marriage, is for life. And The Pact will go to any lengths to enforce that rule. For Jake and Alice, the marriage of their dreams is about to become their worst nightmare.

Pre-order THE MARRIAGE PACT

 

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE MARRIAGE PACT

A twisting, suspenseful, keep-you-up-all-night thriller…It’s a deep, insightful, nearly voyeuristic view into the modern marriage…a smart, engrossing, scary read!” LISA UNGER, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hunter

“A brilliant premise for a novel of psychological suspense, tautly plotted and deftly written.” JP DELANEY, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before

“On the small shelf of truly chilling thrillers about marriage, make room for Michelle Richmond’s The Marriage Pact. It ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say ‘I do.'” JOSEPH FINDER New York Times bestselling author of Guilty Minds)

“Every page of The Marriage Pact hummed with suspense. A daringly original novel about the best and worst of love.” CARLA BUCKLEY, author of The Deepest Secret

Clever and original…as smart as it is scary.” GIN PHILLIPS, author of Fierce Kingdom

“This sometimes disturbing, always thought-provoking, stunner of a novel will keep you reading far too late into the night.” KAREN DIONNE author of The Marsh King’s Daughter

“A terrifying thriller that distills modern marriage down to its confusing core.” Nina Sadowsky, author of Just Fall

PRE-ORDER THE MARRIAGE PACT

 

Meet Michelle Richmond:

Launch party at The Booksmith on Haight Street, San Francisco July 25, 2017

Random House Open House, New York City, July 27, 2017

Kepler’s Premier Event, Menlo Park, CA August 1. 2017 – 7:30 pm

Book Passage, Corte Madera, CA August 2, 7:00 PM

Towne Center Books luncheon, with Gin Phillips, author of Fierce Kingdom, August 3, 11:30 am.

Meet Michelle at her neighborhood indie, Books Inc., Burlingame,  CA August 9, 7:00 p.m.

Cafe Society at Copperfield’s, Santa Rosa, August 11, 7:00 PM

WHAT BOOKSELLERS ARE SAYING

“This summer, The Marriage Pact is set to become the book you won’t be able to put down…Set in Silicon Valley, in a world of privilege driven by exclusivity, The Marriage Pact is a break-neck thriller to match Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. In this insulated and therapy-obsessed community, Richmond pushes her characters, newlyweds at the peak of their careers, to the absolute extreme. You won’t believe the jaw-dropping conclusion.” Kepler’s, Menlo Park