THE MARRIAGE PACT – the new psychological thriller by Michelle Richmond

THE MARRIAGE PACT – the new psychological thriller by Michelle Richmond

 “Riveting psychological suspense.” Lisa Gardner

“A tense, twisting, quirky novel of growing dread…” Dean Koontz

“With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists.” Library Journal, starred review

“Creepy and engrossing.” Booklist

“A standout summer read..Richmond expertly keeps the suspense at a can’t-stop-reading pace…” The Charlotte Observer

An August 2017 INDIE NEXT selection

Forthcoming in 28 languages. Film rights optioned to 20th Century Fox.

Pre-order The Marriage Pact

“Richmond quickly moves beyond the expected with this imaginative tale of a worldwide, cultish movement called The Pact, focused entirely on keeping marriages intact…The by-now familiar domestic suspense setup of a troubled wife leaving a marriage is turned upside down, as the couple faces an outside threat together. Questioning a secretive group’s arbitrary “marriage rules,” this fast-paced nail-biter goes in unpredictable directions…It also raises thoughtful questions about individual agency and marital commitment. Verdict: With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware.” ~Melanie Kindrachuk, Library Journal, starred review

What Booksellers Are Saying:

“This summer, The Marriage Pact is set to become the book you won’t be able to put down…Set in Silicon Valley, in a world of privilege driven by exclusivity, The Marriage Pact is a break-neck thriller to match Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. In this insulated and therapy-obsessed community, Richmond pushes her characters, newlyweds at the peak of their careers, to the absolute extreme. You won’t believe the jaw-dropping conclusion.” Kepler’s, Menlo Park (Meet Michelle at Kepler’s on August 1).

What Librarians Are Saying:

“A relentlessly paced tale of deception, unfaithfulness, and duplicity in which the twists and turns just keep coming.” Loan Stars

A Library Reads top pick for July, selected by librarians across the United States

A Loan Stars top pick for July, selected by librarians across Canada

 

Praise for THE MARRIAGE PACT

“The Marriage Pact is a tense, twisting, quirky novel of growing dread—and a love story with a richly imagined relationship between a wife and husband. Michelle Richmond looks with a gimlet eye at our therapy-obsessed culture and wonders if the experts who claim to have all the cures might themselves need therapy. Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible.”
–Dean Koontz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Corner

“Michelle Richmond is, simply put, a great storyteller. And The Marriage Pact, without gimmick or tricks, is a twisting, suspenseful, keep-you-up-all-night thriller. But it’s more than, too. It’s a deep, insightful, nearly voyeuristic view into the modern marriage—what brings us together, what keeps us together, what tears us apart. A smart, engrossing, scary read!”
—Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hunter

A brilliant premise for a novel of psychological suspense, tautly plotted and deftly written. The Marriage Pact shows in gripping detail just what could go wrong when we try too hard to protect the love we cherish most.”
–JP Delaney, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before

Riveting psychological suspense! First you meet the lovely couple, then you agree a little marital support couldn’t hurt and then… Beware. This book will keep you all night, while making you second guess everything you know, and everyone you’ve ever loved.”

–Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of Find Her

Creepy and engrossing…takes readers deep into the heart of a marriage and exposes some of the darker drives, such as possession and control, that can lurk within even the most harmonious of unions.” Booklist

The Marriage Pact


Order THE MARRIAGE PACT

 

FORTHCOMING FOREIGN EDITIONS

Iztok-Zapad (Bulgarian)
China South Booky Culture (Chinese)
Lumen (Croatian)
Domino (Czech)
Klim (Danish) – Title Til Doden Jer Skiller (Fall 2017)
Prometheus (Dutch) – Title HET HUWELIJKSPACT
Varrak (Estonian)
Presses de la Cité (French)
Random House Diana (German)
Livanis (Greek)
Yediot and Books in the Attic (Hebrew)
Libri (Hungarian)
Rizzoli (Italian)
Hayakawa (Japanese)
Kontinent (Latvian)
Alma Littera (Lithuanian)
Cappelen Damm (Norwegian)
Otwarte (Polish)
ASA (Portuguese)
Globo (Portuguese-Brazil)
Eksmo (Russian)
Laguna(Serbian)
Slovak-Ikar (Slovenian)
Maeva (Spanish)
Natur & Kultur (Swedish) – Title PAKTEN (July 25, 2017)
Hep Kitap (Turkish)
Michael Joseph, Penguin Random House (UK) (July 2017)
Rakon (Ukrainian)

 

Please contact Valerie Borchardt at Georges Borchardt Inc. for foreign rights inquiries

FILM & AUDIO

Film rights optioned to 20th Century Fox
Audiobook by Blackstone Audio

Please contact Anne Borchardt at Georges Borchardt Inc. for film rights inquiries on other titles (The Marriage Pact and The Year of Fog are currently under option).